Freeman, Abreu win Hank Aaron Awards for offense

Freddie Freeman and son receive congratulations from Hank Aaron for winning the Hank Aaron Award for Offensive Player of the Year. (Photo: Courtesy of the Atlanta Braves.)

NEW YORK (AP) — First basemen Freddie Freeman of the Atlanta Braves and José Abreu of the Chicago White Sox have won Hank Aaron Awards as the outstanding offensive performers in each league as voted by

Freeman, 31, was second in the NL in batting .341, OBP (.462), slugging percentage (.640) and OPS (1.102).

The 33-year-old Abreu hit .317 with 15 doubles, 19 homers and 60 RBIs during 60 games in the pandemic-shortened season.

Abreu was voted AL MVP and Freeman won NL MVP.


More AP MLB: and

Contests & Events

No events are currently scheduled.