Alliance announces title game in Vegas, unveils championship logo

By The Alliance Staff

The logo for The Alliance Championship was unveiled late Thursday night, Valentine’s Day, for the inaugural Alliance of American Football finale scheduled for Saturday, April 27, at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

Available beginning at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET on Friday, February 15, tickets start at $39. The Alliance Championship will feature the best in the Western Conference (Arizona, Salt Lake, San Antonio or San Diego) vs. the Eastern Conference winner (Atlanta, Birmingham, Memphis or Orlando). The Alliance Championship comes a week after the top four teams open the playoffs to compete in the conference title games.

The league is committed to play its first two title games in Las Vegas. Tickets for this year’s event start at $39 and are available at the Thomas & Mack Center box office, UNLVTickets.com or by calling 702-739-FANS.

The Alliance is a dynamic professional football league led by some of the most respected minds in the game. Founded by TV and film producer Charlie Ebersol and Hall of Famer Bill Polian, The Alliance is a single-entity structured league.

In addition to authentic pro football, The Alliance has a proprietary tech platform the league will use to deliver in-game data in real-time as no league has before, relying on both tracking devices and wearable technology.

And The Alliance is already drawing attention and accolades after the first week of a 10-week regular season.

“The consensus: The AAF is quality football featuring a lot of young talent. The games moved along at a brisk and entertaining pace. The offenses ran sophisticated schemes, and the defenses delivered big hits. And if the league provides a talent pipeline and developmental arena for the NFL, it could address a longstanding need,” wrote columnist Mike Jones in USA Today. Full USA Today column here.

The technological advancements — particularly tied to gaming — are drawing attention, too.

USA Today’s Brent Schrotenberger wrote: “…The league averaged 3.25 million viewers Saturday on CBS, better than an NBA game on ABC, according to Nielsen data. And besides, the league’s long-term business play isn’t even based on ticket sales and TV ratings, unlike traditional sports leagues. It’s instead based on sports gambling data and technology that is using football as its public storefront and laboratory.

“If it goes the way investors hope, it will transform sports gambling, boost sports viewership and even affect other fields such as transportation and medicine. … Investors are so bullish on it that Ebersol said it plans to spend $500 million to $750 million in the next five years to get off the ground. The investors include Silicon Valley venture capitalists and MGM Resorts International, one of the biggest casino companies in the world. To help develop the tech, the league also hired a head engineer who previously worked as a software engineer at Tesla, the electric car maker, and Lockheed Martin, the defense contractor.” Full USA Today article here.

Kendall Baker at Axios wrote, “Ultimately, the on-field product still matters a great deal, and it’s what we’ll all be discussing week-to-week. But now you know that, underneath all the touchdowns and sacks, a lucrative data business is being built.” Full Axios article here.

Week 2 of The Alliance’s inaugural season starts Saturday, February 16, when the Salt Lake Stallions visit the Birmingham Iron at 2 p.m. ET, 1 p.m. CT, televised by TNT. The Arizona Hotshots at Memphis Express follow later Saturday at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT on NFL Network.

The slate on Sunday, February 17, features the Orlando Apollos at San Antonio Commanders at 4 p.m. ET, 3 p.m. CT on CBS Sports Network, followed by the Atlanta Legends at San Diego Fleet at 8 p.m. ET, 5 p.m. PT, on NFL Network.

Contests & Events

WIN BRAVES TICKETS!

Keep listening to 680 The Fan throughout the Braves season for your chance to win a pair of tickets to see a game at Truist Park! Multiple chances to win EVERY DAY!

FEEL THE LOVE & WIN $68!

Nominate someone who inspires you through acts of kindness or charity to receive a $68 VISA gift card courtesy of Gwinnett Subaru and Georgia’s Own Credit Union! DETAILS HERE!

Win Truist Park

WIN TRUIST PARK! Join the 680 Fan Club and you could win a Truist Park REPLICA for your desk! Enter HERE Today!

Ga Lottery Jackpot Inning 2020

Register now to be a contestant in the GA Lottery Jackpot Inning! If your name is called and one of our Braves hits a homer, you’ll win the day’s Jackpot! No winner? The jackpot rolls over the next day for an even BIGGER PRIZE! Enter to win with The Braves HERE!

No events are currently scheduled.